sarah weaver : composer


Solo and Chamber Projects

Current Projects of Solo and Chamber Works by Sarah Weaver

Project: Resonance Synthesis
"Polydimensional Transformation" for Mark Dresser, bass
Premiered 9/22/16 on the Interpretations Series at Roulette Intermedium, New York
Polydimensional Transformation is a solo network music piece as an accumulation of inner networked spaces, multiple states of material, and transformation over time. Techniques particular to the innovative bass language of Dresser are incorporated, especially his unique approaches to harmonics. The materials are influenced by spectralism and multiplicity of pitch, time, timbre, and dimension, and intersections of jazz and experimental music. Improvisation by the soloist is utilized within this context for expansion of the materials and involvement of music transmitted in the moment for dimensional synthesis. 

Project: Reality Axis
"Node 111 Volumes 1-3" and "Reality Axis" for Gerry Hemingway, drumset, electronics
"Inner Network" for Sarah Weaver, electronics
Reality Axis is a program of pieces that focuses on inner and integral components of multiplicity, nodality, and network. Engaging Hemingway's unique musical language on drumset and abilities in simultaneity, traversed with Weaver's contemplative electronics, the program offers heightened inner expressions of networked life. "Node 111, Volume 1" premiered in a 2011 telematic concert and grew into a full set of works based on these concepts.
Premiered 2011-2017 in New York, Southeast Asia Tour, New Zealand Tour
Documentation Links:
Node 111 Volume 1
Node 111 Volume 2
Node 111 Volumes 1-3
Reality Axis

Project: Solo and Chamber Works for Peace

"Inner Here" for Ray Anderson, trombone
"Refuge" for David Taylor, bass trombone, Zafer Tawil, oud
Premiered 12/7/15 at The Cell Theatre, New York

"Guidance" for David Taylor, bass trombone, electronics
"Remembered Future" for Yoon Sun Choi, voice, Julie Ferrara, oboe
"Sound in Peace" for Joe McPhee, djeridu, Sarah Weaver, spoken voice, electronics, dedicated to Pauline Oliveros
Premiered 12/20/16 at The Cell Theatre, New York

Solo and Chamber Works for Peace is an ongoing series utilizing the role of the arts to transcend boundaries and envision new expressions of peace for our future. Weaver's pieces are part of a larger program that involves works by collaborators for peace.
Artists: Sarah Weaver, composer, computer, Ray Anderson, trombone, Jane Ira Bloom, soprano saxophone, Samir Chatterjee, tabla, Yoon Sun Choi, voice, Julie Ferrara, oboe, english horn, Miya Masaoka, koto, Joe McPhee, saxophone, trumpet, Zafer Tawil, oud, ney, Arab percussion, Dave Taylor, bass trombone, Min Xiao-Fen, pipa.